Tuskegee University

Tuskegee University is an independent and state-related institution of higher education. Its programs serve a student body that is coeducational as well as racially, ethnically and religiously diverse. With a strong orientation toward disciplines which highlight the relationship between education and work force preparation in the sciences, professions and technical areas, Tuskegee University also emphasizes the importance of the liberal arts as a foundation for successful careers in all areas. Accordingly, all academic majors stress the mastery of a required core of liberal arts courses. Tuskegee University was the first black college to be designated as a Registered National Historic Landmark (April 2, 1966), and the only black college to be designated a National Historic Site (October 26, 1974), a district administered by the National Park Service of the U. S. Department of Interior.

Over the past 135+ years since it was founded by Booker T. Washington in 1881, Tuskegee University has become one of our nation’s most outstanding institutions of higher learning. While it focuses on helping to develop human resources primarily within the African American community, it is open to all.

Tuskegee’s mission has always been service to people, not education for its own sake. Stressing the need to educate the whole person, that is, the hand and the heart as well as the mind, Dr. Washington’s school was soon acclaimed–first by Alabama and then by the nation for the soundness and vigor of its educational programs and principles.

Tuskegee enrolls more than 3,000 students and employs approximately 800 faculty and support personnel. Physical facilities include more than 5,000 acres of forestry and a campus on which sits more than 100 major buildings and structures. Total land, forestry and facilities are valued in excess of $500 million.

Department of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

The Department of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (DAES) is one of two academic units within the College of Agriculture, Environment and Nutrition Science. The second of which is the Department of Food and Nutritional Sciences. The curricula within this department is designed to prepare students who will ultimately become professionals in areas that include agricultural sciences, veterinary medicine, environmental policy, natural resource management, and rural development at local, regional, and international levels Building relationships and meeting needs have been the goals of the Department of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (DAES) since its inception. This department offers many exciting learning opportunities in and outside of the classroom setting. Lecture and laboratory classes are predominantly held in the newest constructed building on the campus, James Henry Meriwether Henderson Hall Agricultural Life Science Teaching, Extension and Research Building, which is home to state of the art facilities.

The overall mission of DAES is to develop students with skills in critical and systematic thinking, intellectual curiosity, a desire for life-long learning and to prepare them for leadership and service in the basic and applied agricultural, biological and chemical sciences. 

Dr. Souleymane Fall, Lead Investigator
(334) 552-0850