University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez

About the Mayagüez University Campus (RUM)

108 years of educational excellence

The Campus is part of the University of Puerto Rico (UPR) system. It has four academic units: the Colleges of Agricultural Sciences, Engineering, Arts and Sciences, and Business Administration. The College of Agricultural Sciences includes the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Agricultural Extension Service, which is a community service unit. It also has a Division of Continuing Education and Professional Studies.

Marine Sciences

The Department of Marine Sciences offers thesis-based M.S. and Ph.D. degrees with specialization in the areas of BiologicalChemicalGeological and Physical Oceanography. The M.S. degree requires a minimum of 29 credit units of course work and 6 credit units in thesis. The Ph.D. degree requires a minimum of 60 credit units of course work and 12 credit units for the dissertation. DMS theses are publication ready documents including one or more peer reviewed articles according to the academic program.

Isla Magueyes Laboratories

Modern teaching and sophisticated research facilities are available both on campus and at the field station. A department library specializing in marine science publications is located at the main campus. The field station is on 18 acre Magueyes Island within a protected embayment off La Parguera, 22 miles from Mayagüez. In addition to classroom and laboratory facilities, the marine station has indoor and outdoor aquaria and tanks with running sea water and three museums containing reference collections of fish, invertebrates, and algae. Boats include a 51 foot Thompson trawler; a 35 foot diesel Downeast; and a number of small and medium sized open boats. Research facilities for warm water aquaculture include some 8 acres of earthen ponds, plastic pools, and aquaria.

Magueyes Island Marine Laboratories

The Magueyes Island Facilities are located at a field station established in 1954 in support of marine science research and education for the academic programs of the Institute of Marine Sciences, now Department of Marine Sciences of the University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez. The facility is administered by the DMS and the Faculty of Arts and Sciences.

The principal departmental research laboratories and teaching facilities are located at Magueyes. There, graduate students have access to modern laboratories equipped with state of the art equipment for marine and oceanographic research. The marine station is located within a broad embayment protected by coral reefs and within close proximity to a wide variety of tropical marine habitats: large coral reef complexes, mangrove islets, extensive seagrass beds, rocky and sandy shorelines, a world-famous bioluminescent bay, sand and macroalgal plains, and hypersaline pools. Surrounding waters are generally calm and clear providing excellent opportunities for field research. The insular shelf extends six miles offshore.  A submerged reef line marks the edge of the shelf beyond which depths of several thousand meters are quickly encountered.

Active Research at Isla Magueyes

  • Coral Reef Biology
  • Fisheries and Essential Fish Habitat
  • Geological Oceanography
  • Marine Genomics
  • Marine Microbiology
  • Marine Population/Ecology
  • Molecular Marine Biology
  • Ocean Observation
  • Physical Oceanography
  • Quantitative Ecology
  • Reef Studies and Monitoring
  • Remote Sensing and Bio-optics

The DMS Magueyes facilities include 5 laboratory buildings with approximately 35,000 square feet. The main building houses administrative offices two general teaching laboratories, one large class room, a small conference room, a student computer center, faculty offices and the research laboratories. Additional laboratories, faculty offices and laboratories and student offices are distributed in the remainder 4 buildings. Several laboratories have a running seawater system and aquaria. A NOAA tide and weather station wave-data recording station operated housed at the site.

Dr. Roy Armstrong, Lead Investigator
(787) 899-2048 x249